Get off your bike

If we want to encourage people to do environmentally friendly things like ride bikes, we need to start providing the right incentives – what economists call “price signals”.

Here’s a small example. I work some night shifts and after 10pm I’m entitled to a cab back from my local station, paid by my work. It costs the company about $8 a day or about $2000 a year but to me it’s free.

Alternatively, I can drive to the station and drive home again. Parking in the station car par? Free.

Or I can cycle. Bike racks at the station are free but come with a 100 per cent probability of someone stealing your bike. No-one uses them.

Or I can hire a bike locker. Cost to me? $180 a year.  

So, annual cost to me… driving $0; taxi $0; cycling $180.

Go figure.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    So you don’t have to pay for the petrol that you use to drive to the station and back either?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

